• This topic has 69 replies, 30 voices, and was last updated 12 years ago by jedi.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 70 total)
  • Nervous about seeing Jedi this Thursday – harsh appraisal content
  • philconsequence
    Free Member

I’m off to see Jedi on Thursday morning for a much needed skills session. The following post is a harsh appraisal of my riding:

I’ve had a couple of big falls off the bike since I started riding, well… more than a couple, I can look back and identify what I did wrong in each instance (following a friends line blindly, saddle too high on techy descent, weight too far forward, riding a section ‘blind’ downhill staring at my front wheel as it twisted in a rut… stupid stuff!). Each accident has knocked my confidence and more often than not it has resulted in injury. But I LOVE riding bikes with friends, so the diminished confidence is forced to take a back-seat and I always try and get back on the bike as soon as possible, each time with something extra holding me back.

Recently my riding buddies and I have been slipping into the habit of increasing the percentage of the ride where we’re pushing the miles in on fire-roads instead of messing around on singletrack. As ride ‘leader’ I must admit it’s largely down to me loosing a lot of confidence from my last ‘off’ which resulted in many hours strapped to a spinal board and enough emergency service personal to make me feel comfortable paying tax for the rest of my life!

I’m pretty comfortable on singletrack (compared to my other beginner riding buddies), my pace and momentum through it has improved dramatically over time, so despite my knocked confidence… on reflection I must admit that I am faster and my technique is better than before when I was a complete beginner… my head and technique are now the things holding me back instead of bike-fitness.