Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • May be time to lose some gears – Singlespeeding a c456
  • deadkenny
    Free Member

n+1 next build means c456 frame is spare, and I never like to waste things so thoughts moving to singlespeed.

I’m new to this so not sure what’s needed. Replacement On One swap out I believe.

Then a suitable chainring, chain, whatever cog stuff. Tensioner?

Also, got some wheels with DT350 hubs and shimano freehub at the rear. Don’t know what I’d need to do with that.

Mind you, the spare forks are 150 Pikes. Not sure that’s in keeping with singlespeeding. I suppose I could set it firm to make it rigid-ish 😀 . Not sure I’m ready for full rigid yet. Just want to give singlespeed a go first.

simondbarnes

I’m guessing dropouts c & d from here…
    https://www.on-one.co.uk/i/q/FSOOCNCSO/on-one-cnc-anodized-swap-out

You won’t need a tensioner (or you could use a tensioner and keep your current dropouts)

Wheel will be fine. You’ll need some cassette spacers, a cog and a lockring. Use the spacers to lineup the cog with your chainring.

shermer75
    Free Member

Controversially enough I actually prefer to use a vertical drop out and chain tensioner when single speeding because

1) The chain tensioner takes care of the chain growth
    2) The disc brake rotor lines up with the caliper perfectly every time
    3) No faffing about getting the wheel back in the correct position after dealing with a puncture (see also 2)
    4) If you have mudguards (which I’m assuming you won’t!) the wheel drops out easily without needing to undo any bolts on the mudguard
    5) you don’t have to worry about the axle creeping forwards or backwards under pedaling or braking loads

However you do lose that nice, clean look a singlespeed drivetrain has which is a shame!

The On-One spacer and sprocket kit is really good

https://www.on-one.co.uk/i/q/SKOOSSKK/on-one-singlespeed-converter-kit