• This topic has 15 replies, 12 voices, and was last updated 14 years ago by Olly.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Lottery ticket – Me vs HGV
  • chopperT
    Free Member

Riding home this afternoon, on a seperated cycleway. Big construction project/motorway extention going on, which the cyclepath runs through. Site entrances cross the cyclepath to the road.
    I've been riding this route for a few months now, and there has been very little work going on in this part, but on my way home this afternoon it was very busy. I successfully dodged a digger bucket as it swung it out right on head height, and negotiated the bit where half the path had sunk due to excavation beside, up the rise to where the site entrance is, and there's a wagon parked across the path. So I think… round the back or the front? Back = into site, moving machines, behind truck (blind spot), so I go in front…….
    Just as he moves off for a gap in the traffic on the road. I'm so close as he starts moving, I realise he hasn't seen me, and all I could think about is "He can't see you now, 'cause you're right under him". Now I'm right in front, I raise up my arm in a futile gesture to ward off 30ton of wagon, pushing against the front, as he drives me sideways. Bike goes under, I (step/leap/am thrown???) out in front, landing on my feet as he jolts to a stop.
    Of course I then punch the front of the lorry a couple of times, just so it knows who's boss.
    Breif exchange of pleasantries, and I pick up the (undamaged) bike and complete my ride home (of which I have no recollection).

Am I lucky?

PS: I called the construction company, and mentioned the complete lack of safety procedures, and so I could feel that an independent third party was involved I called the H&S folks at the Dept. of Labour, who seemed VERY interested.

langy
    Free Member

sounds of it, yes, you were lucky.

FuzzyWuzzy