Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • 'Just doing things you're good at'….
  • Pook

I went karting on Saturday for my birthday as I really enjoy it. During the day, one of my mates said “You know your hobbies, do you only do things you’re really good at?”, which got me thinking that perhaps i do yes, as the things i’m not good at I don’t enjoy.

Is it just me? Do you lot strive to improve in things you aren’t good at or just do the things you are as you enjoy them?

Admiralable
    Free Member

I’m a crap cyclist but I still keep doing it for some reason!

ton

well i am shit at cycling, so no

letmetalktomark

As hard as a I have tried to play a musical instrument I just cannot do it – it frustrates me immensely so I have stopped trying 😆

RealMan
    Free Member

You’d have to define good I suppose.

molgrips
    Free Member

I’m a terrible runner, but I am trying really hard. Because I hate being so bad at it.

I suppose the hobby there is overcoming challenges…

Cougar

As hard as a I have tried to play a musical instrument I just cannot do it – it frustrates me immensely so I have stopped trying

That’s familiar. I pick up a guitar, get fecked off inside of ten minutes that I’m not the ghost of Hendrix, and find something else to do.

geoffj

I’m shit at most things, so I’d never do owt if I applied that mentality. 🙄

BruceWee

I used to but now I’m getting better at just doing things because I enjoy them rather than to be the best I can be. I’m getting into yoga a bit. At first because I’m getting older and I wanted something that would let me get better at other activities but now I find I enjoy it in it’s own right even though I’m crap.

nickf
    Free Member

I’m terrible at DH, but I love it anyway. So I keep doing it.

I’d still ride a bike no matter how good or bad at it I was, but I think I would lose my enthusiasm for racing if I was consistently near last.

simonralli2
    Free Member