Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 40 total)
  • have we done this lately? double glazing…….
  • sadexpunk

had a quick search but stw threads on this subject seem a good few years old now, so ill try a new one.

3 bed bungalow, had extension done not so long back, so not all windows need changing, but we’ll be going white pvc to match the extension, both for uniformity of looks, and price. id guess its the cheapest.

existing windows are around 20 yrs old and we mostly get pretty bad mould in the reveals that we have to try and keep on top of. also the wallpaper starts peeling in these reveals. always seem to struggle with condensation in our house (4 adults). im no expert, but people suggest the windows arent as efficient as they used to be and this could cause some of our problems. im not convinced myself, but ive got to admit some of them dont operate as well as they might and its maybe time to change them.

mrs punk has arranged for a few quotes, and unfortunately the dreaded salesman is still a thing of the present. tried telling him we just want a price, no sales b*ll*cks, but im afraid we still had all the usual play-acting.
    “look at my tablet, all the red dots show how busy we are in your area” very good, just the price please.
    “will you do me a favour and watch a couple of videos showing how good our products look?” no, we wont be signing anything today, just a price so we can compare against others, if you make the shortlist we’ll look into it further.
    “we’ll give you an offer, then ill give you another offer, valid until my car drives away”. ok, i dont care how you come to the price, just give me a price please.
    “what do you think of that price? is it what you were expecting?” it sounds reasonable, i didnt really have a number in mind, its neither higher or lower than i would have expected.
    “let me just ring my boss, see if we can give a further discount” i looked sadly at my wife :-/ no really, you dont have to do this.