• This topic has 14 replies, 12 voices, and was last updated 12 years ago by huw.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Going solo at MM or SITS – advice please
  • nammynake
    Free Member

I took part in both Mountain Mayhem and SITS this year for the first time, both times as part of a four man team. I know a lot of people on here don’t like these events, but I loved the atmosphere and challenge of it.

I would like to have a crack at going solo next year. Just wondered what sort of experience/fitness people had before their first attempt. Were you seasoned racers, experienced weekend riders, or total novices?

My only goal is to complete and try to be on the course for as long as possible. I’m certain I’ll need a several hours sleep at least, but having never attempted such a challenge I am looking for some guidance in terms of fitness required, what kind of distances/times I should be building up to in training over the next 6 months.

Thanks guys

Shorty121
    Free Member

Training i’m guessing is just do as many long rides as you can, but would love to know other peoples training plans as I want to do the same.

rickon
    Free Member

Personally, I’d look to do a 12 hour solo first, to give you a good idea on what kind of mental and physical issues you’re going to be putting yourself under.

There’s lots of 12 hour events about, the first this year being at Newcastleton – 24hours of exposure.

Training wise – i’d recommend Chris Eatough’s training programmes, if you fancy something like that. http://www.chriseatough.com

He doesn’t have a specific 12 hour plan, but it’s essentially the same training as for 24 hours – so you can just buy one of them, and take an hour off the 6 hour+ rides.

To give you a rough idea, the programmes are a mix of tempos, intervals, spins and endurance rides. Expect an average of 15 hours a week, peaking at around 18 hours.