Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 76 total)
  • Commuting “Tiredness”
  • MartinGT
    Free Member

Hi Guys

Ive been commuting for approx 6 months now on the bike. Its a 14mile round trip and is 80% downhill/flat on the way to work so its not massive distance nor is it uber hilly.

Now, I have an issue, come the end of the week I am shattered and I have yet to add back to back full week commutes to work due to this. Now, I cannot stop eating at the moment,but it still doesnt help. I have an office based job so its not like I am on my feet all day and I try get 7h sleep on a night.

Anyone got any tips ideas why? Is it a case of getting more scran down me? Am I recovering correctly? I get home and have my tea thats it, usually pasta, spuds or the like, would some protein recovery shake help?

Ta muchly 🙂

BoardinBob

My commute’s about the same distance as you and reasonably flat with a few short, steep climbs.

For ages I was feeling the same way you are then after about 6 months it just clicked and now it’s no bother at all.

My general routine is

Don’t eat before I ride in the morning, wait till the office

2+ litres of water during the day

Carb loaded snack and a strong coffee about an hour before my ride home at night

stratobiker
    Free Member

Martin,
    Unless you’re losing weight or painfully thin, you’re probably eating enough. I used to do a commute 15 each way, and some days it was a real effort to get on the bike and ride home. I just wanted to lie down by the side of the road and have a kip!

But then I noticed something. Some idiot would try to kill me by pulling out on me, or squeezing into a wall or bus or something, and all of a sudden I’d be chasing them like a man possessed to try and catch them to give them a piece of what was left of my mind. All tiredness gone with a shot of adrenaline.