• This topic has 46 replies, 40 voices, and was last updated 10 years ago by accu.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 47 total)
  • Chris King Headsets? Worth It?
  • notmyrealname
    Free Member

I’m just getting parts together for a new build and I’m looking for a headset.

Are the Chris King headsets worth the price?
    I’ve seen the one I need for £80 but I’m not sure whether to try something cheaper.

The same goes for bottom brackets, is it worth paying £100 or so for a King BB?

messiah
    Free Member

In my experience the headsets are the closest you get to a fit and forget components. Some people have problems with them but all of mine have been great unlike all the other headsets I have owned.

Bottom brackets I have no experience of.

nedrapier

I’ve always thought that marginal returns for extra £ were spectacularly diminished by the time you got to King prices.

When I was putting together a slightly tarty build earlier this year, I found one in a pretty colour for £76 at cycle surgery, which just about sneaked it into “Go on, then!” territory.

My mileage on this legendary headset is well into 3 figures now, and I have to say it’s been absolutely faultless. True fit-and-forget technology.

Except you won’t forget, cos it’s so pretty.

nedrapier

BBs – I’d rather have 8 XT BBs than one CK, and still be able to use the tool I’ve already bought.

xiphon
    Free Member

I bought a second hand one (2006 model) about 3 years ago for £40. It’s still going strong.

robinlaidlaw
    Free Member

As above, I have no experience of the BBs, but the headsets are superb. I actually do move them from one frame to the next. The only reason I can see to buy a replacement for either of the ones I’m running will be buying a frame that it doesn’t fit into.

Onzadog
    Free Member