Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 65 total)
  • can you change the foot you lead with??
  • sofaboy73
    Free Member

since i started riding 25+ years ago i’ve always favoured my left foot on the leading pedal when theyre level. always figured my right leg (as a right footer) is stronger and needs to support the weight on the trailing pedal. only noticed recently that most people i ride with who are right footed (and handed) are the otherway round. now they could just be weird, but what do you do? tried it the other way round and just feels all wrong. obvioulsy not what im used to, but for the past couple of months been trying to alternate when on the trails and still feels wrong. is there any advantage to to being able to swith – when cornering for example? not a big thing, but intrigued

nairnster
    Free Member

I have wondered similar. Like you I ride left forward but am right footed, and doing it the other way feels weird.

jekkyl

Great question! I was discussing with this with my cycling buddy recently. I’m right handed but lead with my left foot, my mate is the same. Recently tried to lead my right foot, it was all wrong and I felt weighted differently when going over tech, consequently fell off! never again

Junkyard
    Free Member

right footed and lead with my right

I can bunny hop ad ride moderately technical trails – say a 7 out of 10 in the reverse position – only because i practised- and never drops.

i have no idea what advantage it has beyond which end you can flick out when you hop

RobHilton
    Free Member

I’m very right-handed but, can switch my lead foot no problem – wouldn’t do it for jumps or anything more than a few feet of drop though.

My left leg is the manager and the right the worker; I can balance on the left way better, but couldn’t possibly kick a football with it. The thought of trying to ollie a skateboard regular doesn’t compute at all :mrgreen:

Simon

Right handed and lead with my right foot.