Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Advice for tubeless replacement
  • marshtern
    Free Member

Hi, would appreciate any help if somebody can?

I’ve been riding tubeless for a couple of years on Hutchinson Cobras without a glitch. When the time came to change tyres I couldn’t find Cobras so I got a Continental RaceKing (can’t remember why – they aren’t ‘tubeless ready’).

The Continental inflated OK and I’ve covered maybe 100 miles on it, but there is a slow leak which generally results in a flat over approx. 24 hours.

When in water I can see the air escaping via the rim through where the spokes fit. I assume the valve is OK, and the tyre itself is OK.

Question is do you think the tyre is a write off or should I look more at the rim tape?

TIA
    Steve

malv173
    Free Member

I’d try retaping first. Or even just add a bit more sealant, and see if that works.

stumpy01

If it’s leaking through the spoke holes, it’s either the seating of the valve, or the rim tape is letting air past.

I would check the valve first & perhaps nip up the fastening nut a little.
    If that doesn’t solve it, then it might just need a re-tape.

desperatebicycle

Add more sealant first, as said.

I had a front tyre that deflated overnight. I simply emptied the dregs of a bottle of sealant (like, I dunno -20ml?) and it stopped it.

marshtern
    Free Member

Thanks everyone for responding.

I have checked the valve and tightened the fastening nut.

I don’t want to buy another tyre as I quite like it (running on inner tube at the moment) but I really prefer tubeless.

I’m going to try re-taping. It’s had quite a bit of sealant in it already. Maybe more would help but I think retape will be first job.

susepic

If it’s leaking through the rim it sounds like it’s not the tyre at issue…..

damascus
    Free Member

I’ve been riding tubeless for a couple of years on Hutchinson Cobras without a glitch.