Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • 29er 100mm Fork for 300ish – 1-18" – recommendations
  • occamsrazor
    Free Member

Hi,

Newbie here trying to choose a 100mm 29er fork in 1-18″ straight fitting. Models being considered (but open to others) are Rockshox Solo Air, Manitou Tower, and X-Fusion Slide. Budget around 300 pounds.

Does anyone have any experience of these or any recommendations?

Second question – I want a fork with VERY low maintenance long-term. Would I be better off with a coil instead of air?

It would be for a Surly Ogre.

Thanks.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Low maintenance = marzocchi

Their XC forks are lube oil in the lowers and a seperate damper like everyone else, but they get the same 3 year, no servicing, warrenty as the open bath forks. They still recomend changeing the oil in lowers every 25hours or so and the damping oil every year, but it’s not a condition of the warrenty.

Coil/air rarely makes a difference to reliability these days, epepecialy fixed travel models (air sprung travel adjust on the other hand seems difficult to get right).

occamsrazor
    Free Member

Thanks, but going on their website:

http://www.marzocchi.com/Template/listProdotti.asp?LN=UK&idC=1629&IdFolder=113&uf=WD&idWD=56730

I don’t see that they make any 29er forks in 1-1/8″ fittings, or am I missing something?

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Hmmm, didn’t think of that, I’ve not had any reliability issues with Rock Shox forks so they’d be my 2nd choice, and the ones I’ve had have been easy to service/rebuild (no experience of the new RCT3 dampers though).

If you want reliable, have you considdered rigid forks like salsa cromotos?

occamsrazor
    Free Member