Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • switch > hardtail, year in, massive lower back pain after every ride. others?
  • trailertrash

ok so I have been riding full suss since 2005 and switched back to hardtail last year, which on the whole I have been really enjoying for a variety of reasons. until recently. initially it wasn’t like this, but now, with no major changes to style, terrain, setup etc, I am crippled with lower back pain after every ride. Anyone else with similar?

Rorschach
    Free Member

You’re doing it wrong 😉

no major changes to style

So you ride it like a fs bike?Stand up more,it needs more core strength….no slouching!!
    Do some sit ups.

play
    Free Member

Rorschach +1

flatfish
    Free Member

Had the same problem when I switched back to hardtail after 5ish years on a bouncer.
    Hamstrings were too short so I touched my toes a few times each morning and within a couple of weeks I was cured.
    Praise be and hallelujah.

taxi25
    Free Member

Just go back to the f/s, you know you want to. 😀

RicB

Saddle set up right? Having it too ‘nose-up’, even by a few degrees, can stretch lower back muscles and cause back pain. Try tilting the nose down a few mm?

argoose
    Free Member

touch toes, after each climb until core strength improves, your back muscles are doing the work of your abs. also try a suspension seat post, I have a USE SX £40 ish, plus really helps on techy climbs, stops you getting kicked out of the saddle

rootes1

start doing Yoga.

richieokeefe1
    Free Member

I had the same problem and noting really solved it , I think it was the constant hits from the rear end so I gave up and bought a 4 inch full suss bike just to take the sting out . I do have a weak back 🙁

trailertrash

Well, I do spend an appropriate amount of time stood up now, obviously. I have tried strengthening my core and it hasn’t helped. I will try the seat angle thing though.

buzz-lightyear
    Free Member