Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 43 total)
  • Shimano XT vs SRAM
  • messiah
    Free Member

I’ve been using XT for gears since 1993 and this is the first time I’ve felt like changing.

Two new drivetrains this year – XT and X9 HammerSchmidt on one bike and SRAM X5 shifters with X9 rear mech on another. The XT needs constant tweaking which is I think due to the shadow rear mech getting the odd nudge from sticks etc. Once the X9 rear mech got past an initial sticky bit near the small sproket it has not needed touching.
    Is it just me or is the XT Shadow rear mech a little delicate? (I’ve heard bad things about the Saint… what about XTR?)

The X5 shifters are a bit plasticy but I quite like them, the X9 HS shifter is lovely. I like the XT shifter feel but the little click it gives feels vague compared to the solid clunk of the X9/X5.

I thought I would be changing the SRAM stuff to XT but I am seriously thinking of swinging the other way… until I saw the cost of X9 and X0!!!

Is X9 the XT equivalent… and X0 the XTR… in which case XX wtf???

Serious questions though – is SRAM the better option now and does it last as long or longer than XT? Can the rear mech take the odd dunt better than XT?

So… X9 vs XO vx XT vs XTR?

Liftman

can, worms, open !

bol

I made the switch about 3 years ago. I think SRAM takes a lot less looking after and is much more reliable in the mud due to the one to one actuation. I also prefer the clunk. My take on the comparison between the various categories is that x9 is XT equivalent, x0 was a bit posher than old Xtr, but about the same as new (although in true STW style I haven’t tried the latest 10speed stuff, so don’t really know). In my experience of the 9 speed, x7 works just as reliably and well as x9 or x0 if you’re not too fussed about weight or looks.

messiah
    Free Member

Good info bol – confirming my thoughts.

ski
    Free Member