• This topic has 19 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by ajc.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Road TT advice
  • 2tyred

I’m looking to do a decent amount of road TTs this year (flat 10s and hilly 25s) and wondering about how best to improve my setup, given I lack the funds to nip out and buy a Cervelo P3 and a set of Lightweights.

Currently riding an older aero-ish Madone 5.9 with Zipp 404s, regular drops with clip on tri-bars, 54t big ring and my normal cheapo riding helmet that I use for pretty much everything. Don’t think there’s that much weight to be lost from the bike without some serious expenditure.

I’m new to TT’ing – I do a flat 10 mile TT in 23 mins, wondering if I can make it nearer 22 this season, thinking of trying to do as many as one a week. I know positioning is probably more important than any kit consideration, and this is something I am working on, but I do have a new kit itch.

Given my wheels are OK, I’m thinking that an aero helmet is probably the most logical step. Does anyone have any recommendations here, or is it best to try as many as I can to find the most comfortable?

Also wondering about bars – is it worth changing my drops & clip ons setup for a proper aero bar with extensions, bar end shifter etc, given that this is also my ‘good’ road (ie race) bike? Is frequent swapping over between the two just a world of pain? I figure all I should need to do is keep a cable set on each then just remove/cable up as necessary. I’m quite happy setting mechs up.

Guess what I’m trying to work out is whether or not the advantage offered by a TT bar over a drops/clip-ons setup is worth the hassle of swapping them over on a weekly basis.

Wow, that was quite a bit of rambling.

Any help appreciated, cheers!

convert