Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • P&S Camera Recommendations?
  • Freester

My trusty 4MP Canon IXUS 40 is on the verge of giving up the ghost.

I don’t know what to get next. I’m a keen photographer with some serious SLR gear but have lost touch with what is what with P+S cameras.

I really want a small camera. Not bothered about the larger Bridge cameras or being able to play with too many settings like my current IXUS. Image quality is the main thing I don’t want to compromise.

Is IXUS still the daddy? Panasonic LUMIX maybe? What about rugged waterproof cameras? I don’t need to go dive deep but a metre or two in the pool for family shots might be fun?

Any experience appreciated.

cp

Ixus is still very very good. I’ve got a 110 hs, which doesn’t have manual control, but snapshots are better than my 10d achieves, particularly in low light or high contrast.

I tihink some of the higher end Ixuss have full manual control.

eyerideit
    Free Member

Budget?

The Ricoh grd4 is brilliant and very quick but it’s a wallet busting £450.

edit

It’s not waterproof though but if you want a very quick compact with a great sensor and lens it’s worth a look.

dan74
    Free Member

I’ve got the Fuji x10 to sit along side my dslr and if you have got the budget it’s very impressive, also looks cool 8)

Freester

Cheers thanks for the replies.

Philby

Panasonic Lumix TZ range has always had good reviews. I’ve a TZ10 which has been superceded a couple of times, and it is all you want from a point and shoot camera with the option to change some settings if and when you need it. Also has HD video. Quality is great IME – though I am no expert.

coolhandluke
    Free Member

Liking my Canon SX 230 here. Quick to turn on, fast enough focusing and massive zoom. Photos are great out of it too.

IRO £180. I sold my DSLR since getting the Canon.