Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • montane extreme smock
  • Ringo
    Free Member

Anyone got one? Are they worth the money I was looking at the howies barrier but this looks much cheaper

carlphillips
    Free Member

i’ve had 2, (still got one) much better fitting and quality than buffalo jackets, but very very warm, (way too warm for riding in IME) last an age, i only have a new one now because my last dog shredded the thing..

stills8tannorm
    Free Member

I’ve got one … really can’t fault it.

I’m an instructor / guide so it gets plenty of use. It’s not ‘waterproof’ as such but no matter how hard it rains you don’t get wet. It’s pretty warm but the venting system works very well when it gets too hot. Front pocket is big enough for a map, etc.

I’d happily buy another one when this one wears out … think it’ll be quite a while though as it’s very well made.

Hope that helps.

couby
    Free Member

nice jacket, excellent design, I had one but found it too warm- would never cycle in it unless in minus temps. Brilliant for winter climbing/walking. I’m pretty sure montane do a thinner model of it or maybe thats Buffalo that do that??

stills8tannorm
    Free Member

They are warm but I’ll happily ride in mine, certainly not found it too warm through the last couple of winters … saying that it only gets worn over a base layer.

Ringo
    Free Member

I don’t want it for riding its more for cold nights camping walking bivvying what have you

Marko

I have one – and the Buffalo one. Both very good, but I prefer the Buffalo because of the large map pocket. Also the Buffalo is made in Sheffield and not China.

Rab Vapour rise is another alternative.

Hth
    Mark

Burls72
    Free Member

I have one and really like it. As above warm, good fit, good ventilation and i’d buy another one when this one wears out.

tazzymtb