Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Maxxis tyres – loose bead + tubeless issues
  • cheers_drive

Over the past month or so I’be been burping my tyres (front and back) with an increasing regularity. Including one inopportune time when the front burped majorly when dropping in to a steep rooty trail which put me on the deck face first but could have been much worse.
    Previously I had been using various stardard Maxxis tyres on my Shimano XT tubeless wheel over the last 2 years with no issues. Maxxis std tyres have always had a slack fit on the beads (i’ve never needed a tyre lever) but I reckon they stretch more over time and just don’t stay on the rim when cornered hard.
    I’ve lost confidence in the tyres so I’m putting tubes back in until they have worn enough to warrent replacement. The combo I have been using for the past 8 months is 2.25 Advantage front and 2.25 Crossmark back.
    I guess I you are going to say that I should be running LUST tyres but no one else appears to have problems running standard tyres tubeless.

geordiemick00
    Free Member

I’ve got an ignitor running tubelss and it’s not too bad but having binned it before running tubeless on Bontrager Tyres and rims I wouldn’t use anything else but a Maxxis LUST tyre. When you fit them and feel how tight the bead bites it’s fantastic reassurance.

I just noticed the other night that I’d fitted my ardent on the front wheel backwards, so earlier I let all the air out and for good measure I rode along a bit and it took some force to get the bead to separate from the rim, confidence inspiring to say the least

ampthill

I have a paair of part worn High Rollers in the shed. They kept slipping at the front and ripping the iner tube valve out. Which was a pain and hardly an encouragement to try tubeless

Scienceofficer
    Free Member

You’re not the only one.