Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Marstons Old Empire
  • Oxboy
    Free Member

Just trying my first bottle of it ever now. I gotta tell you it must be the best beer I have ever tasted!
    Its an Indian Pale Ale at 5.7% beautiful stuff, it has a rich malty bitter taste to it, just a shame I only have the 1 bottle 😥

I suppose a lot of you have tried it but I’m a newbie to all this real ale lark! I’m loving trying all of the different beers, beats that fizzy lager rubbish I used to drink hands down.

4ndyB
    Free Member

It’s a superb ale, as is their Single malt (if a little lower ABV)

AndyPaice
    Free Member

lovelly beer ! get yourself to the Marstons Brewery shop in Burton on Trent where there are cases to be had 😀

kinda666
    Free Member

I prefer deuchars IPA tbh, old empire tastes a little strong for me, not that i don’t like stronger ales, just not that one!

porterclough
    Free Member

Tastes a bit ‘oily’ somehow to me. Firestoker is Marston’s best offering IMHO, lovely vanilla aftertaste.

The best IPA is Thornbridge Jaipur…

Oxboy
    Free Member

Thanks for all the recommendations, no doubt I shall try them all at some stage!

kinda666
    Free Member

Fav’s ATM are golden glory and crabbies alcoholic ginger beer!

Inbred456
    Free Member

Can’t go wrong with Old Empire a great session beer, deuchars is a good one as well.

chakaping
    Free Member

Maybe I got a duff bottle, thought it was a bit disappointing and one dimensional compared to Deuchars. Not even as nice as Greene King.

Can we have some more IPA recommendations while we’re on the subject?

🙂

wors

mrs got me a couple of tescos own IPA a few weeks ago, very nice.

thepodge
    Free Member

tescos own IPA = bland

just pop down the shop and get one of each, i spent far too much on beers last time i got let loose and its been well worth it

Keef
    Free Member

Another vote for ‘old empire’ here,my fave bottled ale at the mo,never seen it on tap tho……?

thepodge