Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • kitchen knives (wifes xmas present advice)
  • aslongasithaswheels
    Free Member

What can people recommend?

Heard good things about Japanese knives but not sure where to start. Fancy getting her something special, she's from a family of cooks but always gets left out of the nice cookery stuf at xmas

CheesybeanZ

depends on the budjet , Global make excellent knives , Amazon did have them on offer .

tinribz
    Free Member

Family of cooks or not I think you could be on dangerous ground here.

mrsflash
    Free Member

We love our globals.

wombat

Sabatier all the way for me, had mine for 20 years and they're still just as good as the day I got them.

genesis
    Free Member

Nisbets

I'm a chef and would go with (in increasing cost) Sabatier, Victorinox, Gustav, Wusthof. Though Globals tend to fit female hands better, just keep an eye out that they need specific sharpening steels and also that certain Japansese knives are handed and are best used by people that are right handed.

antigee

David Mellor? good excuse to visit Hathersage

JLS
    Free Member

No No No…not a ideal christmas present…Try Gettingpersonal.co.uk great idea's for pressies.

Just buy the knives anyway, I am sure you will BOTH get use out of them!

neilforrow

got a set of globals, they are spot on.

genesis is rigeht: whatever brand you go for make sure you get a sharpner. pref a wet stone… but the new style roler ones are good.

dont get a set with loads of knives… you will only realy use a couple.

FoxyChick
    Free Member

How about a nice pair of oven gloves to go with them?

br
    Free Member

Never, never, never ever buy household goods for your wifes' Xmas pressie – underwear, perfume, sex toys – these are all acceptable.

Buy a proper present.

Get the knives anyway, and just give them before; as in before she's bought yours. 😆

loddrik
    Free Member