Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 45 total)
  • jumping techniques? help.
  • addicted2tailwind
    Free Member

hi all. need a bit of advice on how to tackle jumps and table tops at trail centres.I am hiting them at a good speed but I always seem to not get much air and i feel out of control lol. A bit of advie would be nice thanks.

_tom_
    Free Member

I'm no expert but I think the most important thing is to be relaxed on the bike. If you're tense or stiff your jump will be rubbish (and you'll have no style!).

You need to learn how to pump the take-off as well. It's not really something I can describe very well, probably because I'm not that good at it! It all comes with practice, at the start of the year I could hardly jump anything and now after a few months of constant practice I can just about clear all the tabletops at my local place (if the ground is dry and riding fast).

sailor74
    Free Member

put on some flat pedals, lower your saddle right down, push into the face of the jump as you approach the lip then allow the bike to come up under you as you are in the air.

if you must use spd's just concentrate on points 2 & 3.

thomthumb
    Free Member

flat pedals don't help you jump. they only help if you want to eject.

use the pedals your used to.

had a lesson from jedi on jumping on friday – turns out it's easier than you think.

HOME

highly reccomended

Trekster

any youtube/vimeo demo /educational vids?

Rolled through the Mabie skills/jump park on my Ti road bike Fri afternoon to much amusement to the guys there on their BigHits etc 🙄

sailor74
    Free Member

i didnt say they help you jump. The flats actually make it harder as you have to apply more technique but they more than likely will add some confidence which is half the battle. I did include an spd option.

addicted2tailwind
    Free Member

i use flats pedals. I have been thinking about a skills course.

Trekster