Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • isis or square taper
  • SlowJohn
    Free Member

I like the look of the middleburn cranks but i have no experience of either of these BBs. Which is best and what make would you recommend?

clubber
    Free Member

Anything but isis! Almost all isis bbs have silly small bearings and it’s not uncommon for them to die in one ride…

SlowJohn
    Free Member

So what about square taper then? who makes a good one? Will i need more tools in my collecttion

Bez

Shimano square taper BBs ROCK.

bellerophon
    Free Member

Given this choice I’d go square taper and with Shimano. If you don’t have a BB tool then you’ll need one of those.

Bez beat me to it and said it better….

HTH

iPed
    Free Member

Not all ISIS b/b’s are cast from the same block though – I chewed through the no brand one that came with my bike in 2 dry months, an FSA platinum lasted 3 – the SKF I replaced it with has outlived 3 chains and a set of Middleburn rings

james
    Free Member

ISIS BB with large ball bearings

There are a few that last

Square taper generally last, but will be (a little) flexier (having a narrower axle)

catfood
    Free Member

My isis has been on my Middleburns for 3 years now since I bought them, good as gold, FSA I think.

CountZero

‘I have no experience of these bb’s’