Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • I want a hamster…
  • becky_kirk43
    Free Member

OK, so as a student I spend roughly 6 months of the year in my student house, and the other 6 at home.

In our student house we are currently hamster sitting, have been for a little while now. This instantly made me realise how much I miss having one (I’ve had hamsters, gerbils, rats and mice at home!), and just how much I generally miss having a pet around as we still have dogs at home.

So I decided I want a hamster, so here comes the problem…my mum does not want me to keep a hamster at home (probably because I was quite a bit younger when we had rodents previously so I may have neglected my cleaning out duties and left it to her). I’ve spent the last few weeks trying to convince her, even suggesting that it would make a very good (and cheap) birthday present to let me have one. But I haven’t got anywhere.

The more time I spend with our temporarily adopted hamster the more I want one…so singletrack…some advice on persuasive techniques? 😛

(I have considered just getting one and dealing with the consequences, but decided against it, also thought about getting one and leaving it in the care of my housemates while I’m at home but that’s not fair on them, and I expect I’ll miss it anyway!)

5thElefant
    Free Member

Nintendo dogs?

scaredypants

have a baby – they’re all the rage

mushrooms
    Free Member

Did you not find that rats make better pets?

z1ppy

That a great point, give her the option, grand-daughter or Hamster…

Hey mum feeling bit bored at uni, thought I might have a…

😈

becky_kirk43
    Free Member

5thElefant – Member
    Nintendo dogs?

not quite the same 😛

scaredypants – Member

that’s a good one…maybe I’ll threaten my mum with “If I can’t have a hamster I’ll have a baby instead” and see which she prefers…

mushrooms – Member
    Did you not find that rats make better pets?