Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 64 total)
  • How much to spend on a ring?
  • Ewan
    Free Member

The engagement sort. A months salary? A weeks salary?

Discuss. I need to know…

Onzadog
    Free Member

I think traditionally, it's about a months salary. However, if she knows what you normally spend on a bike, expect her to expect a lot more!

jam-bo

what you can afford.

months salary is bollocks dreamt up by de beers marketing department.

AndyP
    Free Member

]I think traditionally, it's about a months salary.
    indeed. And yet a month's salary goes much further in, say, Birmingham Jewellry Quarter, than, say, DeBeers…;)

meikle_partans
    Free Member

what you can afford. i spent a months salary but it was back when i worked in a shop and had a minimum wage job so it wasnt that much. I designed it myself tho with the help of a shop in Aberdeen, which was good fun. Having said that my wife wasnt happy with the lack of bling and bought herself a three diamond eternity ring to make up for it! women, what a lot of crazies.

Munqe-chick
    Free Member

Remember though the whole engagement ring thing is invented by De Beers! I would say spend whatever you want on something you know she will like. She need never know how much it cost and if she is disappointed you didn't spend enough then cancel the engagement and call her a "stuck up cow". Just my opinion 😀

IanMunro
    Free Member

Nothing.
    Tell her it would be obscene to put a fiscual value on your love.
    Unless of course she does tricks 🙂

Onzadog
    Free Member

I got the wife one from G H Moore in Birmingham. They work with Ti and use reasonable quality stones rather than just big stones.

Do a little research on the 4 Cs

I also decided to get a certified stone. Wife then lost the certificate!

clubber
    Free Member

What you think is right and can afford. Ignore all the 'one month/week/3 months' etc 'rules' as they were made up by jewellers.