Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Garmin eTrex HCx gps models – anyone use one?
  • cinnamon_girl

My eTrex Legend has been struggling with satellite reception in … wait for it … Outer Mongolia 😉 Just kidding, the Chilterns actually!

Just wondering whether anyone uses the HCx models which apparently can be used in the jungle 😯

Thank you so much!

neilb67
    Free Member

Have you got the latest software for the unit as Garmin regularly update the GPS receiver software aswell. I normally check every couple of months.

ChatsworthMusters
    Free Member

I use a Legend HCX. No problems anywhere. The "H" models are superb at picking up signals. Dense forests are no problem. Never lost a signal and I've been using it for approx 4 years.

cinnamon_girl

Ah good point, thanks!

cinnamon_girl

Chatsworth – so dense forests are OK then. Could I ask, do you use an SD card with it? Do you plot routes and export to gps? Would be very interested to hear your thoughts in more detail, if you don't mind. Thanks 🙂

jwr

I use a Vista HCx and there is a noticeable improvement in GPS reception compared to the standard eTrex Legend I used to use.

-j

neilb67
    Free Member

I had a 60CSX prior to my 705 and had the same problem. Poor reception and loosing signals in the trees. Phoned Garmin and they were very helpful and talked me through a master reset followed by a software update. Worked spot on after that.

ChatsworthMusters
    Free Member

CG, where do you want to start?