• This topic has 15 replies, 9 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by Kit.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Funding for second degree?
  • Anna-B
    Free Member

Have had a big career change over the past few years, and to get to the next level I need a degree. The problem is that I did a degree (BA) nearly 20 years ago, so don’t seem to be entitled to any grants or student loan to cover £7500 p/a tuiton fees. I don’t owe any student loan money from before. I would be entitled to NHS bursary (£3500pa) which would cover half tuition fees, but that’s it. There must be a solution….. anyone got any ideas/experience of this?

Am wondering if I may be better off somewhere as an international student.

xiphon
    Free Member

Look at doing a degree part-time, spread over several years?

I’m applying to do a MSc, as I’ve hit the ‘no degree – in the bin’ ceiling.

At the same time, I’ll be funding my wife’s PhD for the next 3yrs…. ouch.

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

I did mine part time / distance learning and fully self funded. You are lucky to get any support.

druidh
    Free Member

Anna B – Member
    Have had a big career change over the past few years, and to get to the next level I need a degree. … I would be entitled to NHS bursary (£3500pa) which would cover half tuition fees, but that’s it. There must be a solution..

The solution is that YOU pay to get YOU to the next level. Think of it as an investment…..

Anna-B
    Free Member

TJ do you mean OU? This is one option but needs employer support.
    Xiphon do you also mean OU, or p/t degree through a uni/college whilst in work?
    Druidh it sounds simple when you put it like that. If I had that kind of money then yes, not a problem.

DougD

Have a look through this:

Funding info

Though it looks to be vet focussed, there are many sources in there that are applicable to yourself eg The Educational Grants Directory,