• This topic has 36 replies, 20 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by tron.
Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • Diesel engine re-map – worth it?
  • nasher
    Free Member

looking at the options of upping the power on a Yr 2006 1.9 ltr 100bhp renault diesel engine as found in the trafic.

Do they really offer that much power and better fuel consumption? some first hand experiences and reccommendations would be appreciated.

Ta

LHS
    Free Member

Had a passat 1.9TDi 130bhp re-mapped to 170bhp.

Went well, about the same mpg, no issues.

stilltortoise
    Free Member

Makes me wonder, if it improved fuel economy AND gave you more power, why aren't the engines mapped that way in the first place. I thought engine mapping could give you more power at the expense of economy or vice versa. I'm no expert, but there's no such thing as a free lunch…is there? 😕

Surf-Mat
    Free Member

No there isn't.

Bhp gains are impressive but you will raise your emissions levels (a lot) and shorten the life of your drivetrain, eat tyres, etc. On my second pokey turbo diesel (or twin turbo on current one) but not going to remap.

Manufacturers spend zillions on R&D and will get the best power and economy they can. Remaps (IMO) are just putting all that work under much higher pressure.

anc
    Free Member

Engines are mapped very conservatively for durablity. Economy usually stays about the same or improves with remaps cos your not having to rev as hard due of the increase in low end torque to get up to speed. This of course goes out of the window if you drive it hard all the time.

LHS
    Free Member

Passat i had did 100,000 miles on re-mapped engine and didn't even break wind.

Ford, for example now, will honour warrantys even if you remap your engine using ford approved tuning companies.

Engines and drivetrains aren't as fragile as you think.

snaps
    Free Member