Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • Designing a custom 29er – what would you recommend?
  • Sanny
    Free Member

Hi folks

I’m looking to have a Ti custom 29er built as I’ve struggled to find an off the peg one with rack mounts and decent standover clearance. I’ve tried several different 29ers but would be interested to know folks thoughts on what works best for them. My eyes tend to glaze over normally when it comes to fork length, rake etc but as I’m no expert on 29ers, any advice would be greatly appreciated (other than don’t get one, they are the wagon wheeled bike of the freak minority!) 😀 Also, what rigid forks would folk recommend? The Surly’s look great vfm but I have no idea how they ride.

The basic spec I have so far is Ti frame, strong and comfortable, rack mounts to take a child seat and that’s about it. Would you recommend a frame brace a la Cotic Soda 2010 for the disc side? What about frame strengthening gussets etc?

Cheers

Sanny

TooTall
    Free Member

Take the bits you liked from what you tried. Discard the bits you didn’t like. Make up the in-between bits.

ton

ssstu is in the process of waiting for such a frame i think.

MostlyBalanced
    Free Member

Most kiddie seats clamp round the seat tube. Do you really need rack mounts?

Sanny
    Free Member

The rack mounts on the dropouts and the seatstays are a given. The only flat bar 29er I’ve found that might work is the 2011 Karate Monkey but the top tube clearance isn’t great hence the custom option. I was considering just getting a SIR 9 and using it with a trailer instead but there are no dealers in Scotland so that rules the Niner out as Jungle only supply dealers who carry stock. For less money, I can get a custom Ti Burls so it’s hard to say no to the custom option.

letmetalktomark

Crud catcher mounts.

TheSwede
    Free Member

Three top tubes and a built in Frying pan browning the mince.

Lionheart
    Free Member