Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • Court attendance – obligatory?
  • thegreatape
    Free Member

Just had my mother on the phone in a bit of a flap, after she got home to find a court summons from some court in Bulgaria demanding her attendance in a fortnight to give evidence against someone who is being prosecuted for stealing her handbag 7 years ago!

Presume she can just ignore it without consequence – she’s in her 60s and obviously doesn’t want to go there all alone?

jon1973
    Free Member

I wouldn’t bother. I wouldn’t be worried about the consequence either.

cynic-al
    Free Member

I doubt they’d extradite her for non attendance, but I am not an expert on Bulgarian criminal or international law.

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

I would not presume anything of the sort. Failing to attend a summons to court here gets you locked up straight away does it not?

cynic-al
    Free Member

You or she could always try to get in touch and ask?

jon1973
    Free Member

Yes, but this isn’t here, it’s in Bulgaria. The British police aren’t going to come knocking for you.

thegreatape
    Free Member

Sort of TJ, but they’re hardly likely to come over to get her are they?

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

european extradition warrent?

thegreatape
    Free Member

For that?

slimraybob
    Free Member

TJ, get a grip. She’s a witness in the alleged crime, not the alleged criminal. The worst that will happen is the Bulgarian version of the CPS will drop the case.

project
    Free Member

Is he in a union.

dobo
    Free Member

scam perhaps?

thegreatape
    Free Member

Union – assuming you mean for legal advice? I think she is, a teaching one. Will suggest that.

Scam – don’t think so, it was sent Special Delivery and has a Home Office covering letter. And it does relate to a real incident.

meehaja
    Free Member

Ask these, I bet they know!

Embassy of the Republic of Bulgaria in London
    186-188 Queen’s Gate
    London SW7 5HL