Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Cooker, kitchen fitting sealing worktop information needed HELP!
  • supersessions9-2
    Free Member

I want a seal to go between my freestanding cooker and worktop in my kitchen to stop food and crap going down the side.

Tried espares and tricitybendixspares, no joy. contacted electrolux direct and they “only sell parts which come with the cooker” and then put me into the telephone help desk menu black hole.

What i want has got to be pretty universal, self adhesive seal that sticks to side of cooker and fills the gap to the work top.

PLease can anyone here help?

bruneep

Gaffa tape?

cynic-al
    Free Member

Never seen such a thing, not that I am an expert.

I don’t see how it could be as easy as you suggest – sealing 2 sides?

Bit of wood? Mastic?

Blazin-saddles
    Free Member

I’ve never seen such a thing either, and I do fit Kitchens for a living! Silicone sealant?

midlifecrashes

We just ran a bead of clear silicone(butted right up when fitting, black worktop, stainless range), but if the cooker was white maybe a bath seal could look OK if you didn’t overlap too far on the worktop.

supersessions9-2
    Free Member

my parents had this on a belling cooker in a magnet kitchen back in the er…80’s.

thought it was a common thing, obviously not.

Silicon will look crap. Think I may look at draft excluder type seal, the one with D shape and sticky back.

willyboy
    Free Member

You could try angle aluminium or similar and stick it on sideways. I think you can buy it pre coloured.

tonyplym
    Free Member