Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Childseat or Trailer: Tougher to pull?
  • jorgechx
    Free Member

I have a child seat and as my baby is getting bigger I am considering buying a trailer. My "problem" is that I moved to Switzerland and this beautiful country is full of Mountains and very uphill paths everywhere … therefore I would like to know what it is tougher to pull: chil dseat or trailer? With the child seat mounted on my bike I must confess that I can pretty much go everywhere (the first two weeks were tough but after the initial training my legs responded very well and no complains). My question is not about handling or security but it is just about the pulling so if one of you has ever experienced child seat and trailer I would appreciate his advice.

RoterStern
    Free Member

I have been using a Chariot trailer for my kids for the last five years. They do need a bit of extra pulling but nothing a bit of fitness can't manage. I have climbed up some pretty steep mountains with mine on my SS bike too. Damn hard work but got there in the end.

jd-boy
    Free Member

Trailer is the safer option, always used to scare the s*** out of me when a operated a cycle hire centre with kids in child seats and getting dropped on the floor, and the kid not having a helmet. go with the trailer

owenfackrell
    Free Member

If there is no wind then its not much difference but as soon as there is the drag of the trailer is noticable (even with out the kid in) That said i find mine better than the seat as is only drag on th ebike rather than the extra weight up high which became noticeable as she got bigger. I have yet to find anything i can't climb with it on the back though this is why i have a triple on my road bike. You will just have to get used to going slower and taking longer to stop.

stumpyjon