Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • BSO's in cycle shelters
  • fenred
    Free Member

Just walked past the cycle shelter at work. Great to see some people are commuting on two wheels but the condition of some of these machines defies belief!…miss-aligned brake pads, frayed cables, chains that have never seen any lube, lights and reflectors pointing all over the place and bottom brakets and chainsets caked in so much cack I’m supprised they even turn.

Half tempted to bring in my workstand and tools tomorrow and start a “this is how you look after your bike” tutorial.

How do some people just not give one?

geordiemick00
    Free Member

I’m a company car driver and feel the same about some other peoples vehicles. I guy near me had a Saab 9-3 and he never once cleaned the brake dust off the front wheels in the three years he had it. It just made him look like a scruffy bastard

wwaswas

It frustrates me seeign badly maintained bikes.

some bloke ridign along on a bike with one v-brake disconnected, an orange chain chirping it’s way across chainrings and rear cogs like throwing stars.

and then I think, fair play to you, you’re out there riding, maybe for financial reasons and you just throw the bike on the front yard when you get home and pick it up next time you want to go somewhere but you’re riding.

I’m quite keen to set up a ‘stealth oiling’ team to visit the worst offenders though.

Practically:

Why not ask your employer to arrange for Dr Bike or whoever to turn up and give all the cycle commuters bikes a once over. Good PR for the company (getin local paper) gets people riding safe bikes (less staff sickness due to ‘issues’) and may encourage people to come in if they knwo their bike’ll get fixed (fitter staff take less time off)?

binners

The thing I always notice about BSO’s is they never seem to have more than 2PSI in the tyres

cupra
    Free Member