• This topic has 38 replies, 22 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by hora.
Viewing 39 posts - 1 through 39 (of 39 total)
  • Broken carbon bike
  • frozenearth
    Free Member

I am new to this forum and would like your opinions please

I have been riding carbon bikes for a few years now and have never had a problem.
    In December I bought a full sus carbon bike ( I will not mention the manufacturer yet as a dispute is on going with them) on the first ride the seat tube broke. The manufacturer replaced the whole bike and apologised,they also said that this was a known problem and since then they have reinforced the tube. 3 days ago I was on a ride and the carbon linkage disintegrated. The manufacturer has said that they will replace the bike when they get new ones in.They have said that this has happened before on 3 other bikes.

Is it within my rights to be demanding a full refund for the bike since I am very concerned that this will keep happening and I have no confidence left in the product.

wwaswas

"Is it within my rights to be demanding a full refund for the bike"

yep, TandemJeremy will be along shortly with chapter and verse but you've given them a chance to rectify it and they haven't.

"not fit for purpose" is the phrase you ought to use.

hora
    Free Member

From my most recent experience:

Repair
    Replace
    Refund

If its a safety critical part you have every right to a refund. If the LBS says you'll have to take it up with the manufacturer – wrong. Your contract is with the bikeshop.

Ask for a full refund stating due to the second failure that you have no faith in the product.

Personally – (especially with the admission of failures)- I wouldnt go near their product in your position.

njee20
    Free Member

Ask for a full refund stating due to the second failure that you have no faith in the product.

+1

hora
    Free Member

Don't accept a replacement product thinking 'its too much hassle I'll just stick it on ebay'.