• This topic has 19 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by hora.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • attempted arson
  • milkyman
    Free Member

My brother extremly drunk and stupid tried to set fire to a garage at the weekend, was caught by the police with turpentine, a rag and matches, it was a garage where they repair cars not sell petrol, I am disgraced by his behavior, he has been relased on bail, the charges are attmpted arson and crimnal damage,
    Is he likley to go to prison is my question

hora
    Free Member

I’m NO expert however from a common sense point of view, how old is he and does he have any previous?

In addition, arson is seen as a very serious offence. The ‘good’ thing is the garage is nowhere near property/dwellings? If its under/next door to I think hes most certainly looking at a stretch.

alfabus
    Free Member

any mitigating circumstances? why they hell was he doing it?

milkyman
    Free Member

he was done for harrasment in 2008, he is 28, and has problems with drink and drugs, I asked him why he did it and he says he has no idea, the fella that owens the garage is a top fella, nice as you like so its not like he had issues with my brother

hora
    Free Member

Look at it from another perspective.

What if he gets extremely drunk again?

Feel for you OP though. Awful stuff 🙁

milkyman
    Free Member

I went to see my brother this morning to find out what he had done and was more concerend about how the police had delt with him, I tried to explain that if the garage had burnt to the ground, people may of been hurt or worse, the garage owner would be out of work, might have a family to support etc, and like i say he was only concerned that the police locked him up for 2 days while the weather was nice, I dispair

milkyman
    Free Member

hora

I totally agree, and I said that to him,
    I said to him if its not this time there will be a next

hora
    Free Member