Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 72 total)
  • Ashima Rotor Fail
  • bigdugsbaws
    Free Member

Had an unexpected faceplant today whilst bedding a new set of brakepads down a very gentle slope. Got up to find my rotor tacoed and big damage to my hub and fork from the warped disc. I have been using it for the past 4 months with no issues and it was true and rotating in the correct direction when the failure happenedBrake pads were intact so still cant work out htf it self destructed!!

[img]http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6188/6069215771_61fe94c78b.jpg[/img]

OrangeLad
    Free Member

might straighten got an adjustable spanner?? 😀

trail_rat
    Free Member

propper job .

anything bodily broken ?

Tom83

Those pads must’ve been good!

tazzymtb

saw something similar with another rotor last week, a few rotor bolts had gone walkabout and the rotor moved into the calliper causing a very similar looking fail. Was the damage to the hub a result of the accident of did the hub crack at the rotor bolts causing the fail?

br
    Free Member

Any idea which snapped/broke first – the rotor bolt mount or the rotor ‘face’ itself?

I’ve been using these (203/180/160) for a couple of years now with no issues.

SurroundedByZulus
    Free Member

Whats the burn marks on the tightest bit of the kink? Something weld itself to something?

bigdugsbaws
    Free Member

They were Superstar pads 😯

Broken wrist and sore neck (smashed helmet obviously saved my bonce)

Rotor surface definately failed first, the ripped section was caused by the warped disk jamming on the underside of the caliper.

bigdugsbaws
    Free Member

Think its just dirt and camera angle SBZ.

SurroundedByZulus
    Free Member

You going for compo from Ashima?

bigdugsbaws
    Free Member

Na, call off the lawyers, shit happens.

trail_rat
    Free Member

looks like a good bit of modern art- id stick that on the mantle piece 😉 –

*later the missus would probably throw it in the bin 😉

bigdugsbaws
    Free Member