Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Armoured undershorts
  • TheTompy
    Free Member

At the age of 42 I've found myself with an overwhelming urge to ride off-road for the first time since a brief flirtation 20 years ago (on a gorgeous Marin Muirwoods). In January I bought a Commencal and then fell off it on my first ride when I hit some ice. I went down hard on my hip – the same hip that I had fallen on about a week previously when I slipped on some black ice outside my front door. This was about 5 weeks ago and I haven't been able to sleep on that side since – although it is slowly improving.

Trouble is I'm scared now of falling on my hip again. I ride clipless on the road, so I fitted SPDs to the Commencal which, combined with being a complete novice at off-road, will increase my chances of a fall – even if it's just a slow speed clipless moment.

So I was considering some armoured undershorts to protect my hip. I don't want to pay more than £50 because I hope that they will just be temporary until I get my confidence back. Any recommendations?

thepurist

Fox Launch's should fit the bill. I've got a pair & they don't restirct pedalling at all but have saved me one bruising so far (in the ice)

coffeeking
    Free Member

Personally I'd just buy some cheap flatties until you get happy with the terrain. I used to have full-length armoured pants and while they do stop sharp impacts like stones jutting out from the floor as you slide, they don't stop the main force of the impact at all (its a few mm of high density foam with a hundred kilos of bloke hitting it at speed).

tracknicko
    Free Member

goalkeeper shorts are normally padded for low speed jumping to the floor.

IA

2nd cheap pair of flats, you could probably pick up a pair for £10 on the classifieds, them plus the shorts for a bit should get confidence up fast? Then get the clips back on?

kimbers

ive got the 661 padded ones and they are excellent

wwaswas

the 661 ones are good.