Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Any non-tech heads use Ubuntu?
  • tomaso
    Free Member

Just dabbling with Ubuntu on an old laptop for my daughter that is dog slow with Vista and it appears to be better for browsing.

Any tips or experiences worth sharing?

allthegear
    Free Member

I put it on a laptop I gave to my mum. She doesn’t seem to have any problems (or at least doesn’t bother me with them)

Rachel

cullen-bay
    Free Member

I do know a fair bit about computers, but Ubuntu is simple to use for most people. advice….. check out the ubuntu software centre, its full of free stuff. play about with it to get used to it.

nbt

Although I do web stuff for a living I’m not a geek, I have ubuntu on a netbook, I find it as easy as XP for browsing – maybe a bit a pig to set up, I had help to get the right drivers and stuff but we had it done in an hour (and 2 beers)

TheFlyingOx

Ubuntu 10.04LTS/10.10 is great on older laptops. Had 10.04LTS on my ancient Packard Bell, and it fair zips along. It did everything I used to use Windows for, but doesn’t take 10 minutes to boot. I’ve recently upgraded to 11.04 and it’s noticeably slower, although still infinitely better than when I was running Vista. Depending on the spec of your daughter’s PC, maybe stick with the 10.04LTS version.

neilsonwheels
    Free Member

I had Ubuntu installed on the computer up stairs for a couple of years, my nipper never had a problem with it. Simple to use as only gets technical if you do.

poly
    Free Member

I use Mint which is an Ubuntu varient and it just works. I’m only a minor geek.

tomaso
    Free Member

Installing Ubuntu now cheers

Janesy
    Free Member

The new version has a horrid desktop, good luck with it. And runs very slow.

cynic-al
    Free Member

Would it help an aged (1.4gHz/128mB ram) pc?

samuri
    Free Member

My father in law is 80 and the least technical person on the planet.