• This topic has 21 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated 14 years ago by spev.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Advice from HSE type bods
  • spev

Right then, I work in a shop which also has a workshop (i'll let you work out what sort of shop it is 🙂 )
    Whilst myself and the mechanic understand that its a drafty old building we both feel the working temperature is too low, for example today it didnt get above 6 degrees indoors. We have a single halogen heater with only one bar working which is hidden away in the other corner under the computer so thats helping no one. Giving the guidlines are for 13 and 16 degrees depending on type of work what are the repercussions for the owner if he doesnt at least help us out?

project
    Free Member

Halogen heater are basicly useless as they heat a person and not the air,a while ago,British Rail installed them in signal boxes and they got chucked out by the unions as the staff said it didnt heat the air,or their feet.

Buy your own heater,and plug it in,being cold in a semi manual job with tools and moving things is dangerous.

Awaits the arrival with trumpets of Tandem Jeremy, the union man.

coffeeking
    Free Member

Not on at all. I presume you've asked for heating improvements, officially rather than just "it's cold in here" comments?

spev

Project, I'm not buying my own heater as I'm sure he can afford it (whilst I can not) given his recently announced desire to spend 3000 on some new equipment for the shop.
    We have at various points mentioned it and its getting to the point where I'm about to snap. We are a small shop so we(the staff) are trying to keep it on a friendly basis but frankly our patience is running out.
    I'm not in a union currently (cant afford the subs) but think I will bite the bullet and join again

scotabroad

I think 6 degrees is pushing it on general working conditions.