Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • 29er Touring Frame/Fork
  • kapital
    Free Member

Iv decided to build a touring bike and i quite like the idea of 29er rims, im looking at a Surly LHT but its not really compatible with the whole lack of brakes. I work in the industry for years but this is my first time looking up serious cycle to china sort of touring bikes. I understand the pitfalls of 29er tyre availability when travelling but i would still consider(carry spares). Can someone suggest frames, if there is any that run 29s, disk brakes that will work with panniers as well and maybe places to find out more about globe bike touring in gereral. thanks

thomthumb
    Free Member

surly ogre.

ton

surly ogre. all the fittings you will ever need….and tougher than a tough thing.

amplebrew

The CTC forum is pretty good for touring advice in general.

And how about a Genesis Fortitude Adventure?

Jerome
    Free Member

Singualr peregrine gets my vote.
    Built super tough..
    Option to run an internal hub gear as well..

Nick

Salsa Fargo?

I haven’t got around to loading mine up yet (only had it a month or so) but it’s such a lovely bike to ride, has all the brazeons you could ever want plus the enabler fork which allows you to use the Salsa anything cages to carry stuff.

Salsa Fargo first impressions

Riding a drop on the drops

dufresneorama
    Free Member

what about the Surly Disc Trucker?

jameso

gives me itchy feet just looking at it…