Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Worn road bike rims
  • titusrider
    Free Member

So I’ve been running velocity A23’s for 2 years all year round and the rear now has a definite concave shape to the braking surface.

I’m feeling too tight to replace them just coz they are a bit worn but would like to avoid a high speed blowout when I go to France at the end of May

What to we think?

time to buy some callipers to measure the wall thickness? regular inspections? suck it up and change them before they go?

tonyg2003

Normally worn rims blow when you are pumping them up. If you are worried (put some earplugs in) and try pumping them up to 120psi.

However myself I wouldn’t take the risk of them going when riding and I’d change the rims over.

dawson

I’d change them – I split a rim on my v-braked MTB a few weeks back – due to excessive wear – there was wear-indicator groove, which had worn down, and seemed to create a weak line, which was where the split formed

wwaswas

*wonders which of the three previous posters put the tag on*

change them.if you do like for like and don’t have alloy nipples it’ll only cost you the rim price.

titusrider
    Free Member

I put the tag on because its my favourite phase from STW and im able to laugh at myself 🙂

wwaswas- like the idea but im not 100% happy with the wheels and wouldn’t really just want the same again

anotherdeadhero
    Free Member

They’re your teeth mate, you can scatter them wherever you like.

hofnar
    Free Member

I have blown a rim on an uphill just before cresting the summit I wouldn’t wan’t to have seen the damage to myself if it happened a mile down the road. I have blown a front tire from overheating by braking on a steep downhill. Tire and shredded tube came off some good relexes made me stop with without personal hurt again i wouldn’t want to see my face if I reacted slower/had a bit less luck.

Dental work on one tooth is more expensive then a decent new wheel.

bob_summers