Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Will a Thermos keep my soup warm til lunch? Like proper warm?
  • munrobiker
    Free Member

I fancy having some soup for lunch instead of sandwiches, but I work in the field. I’ve not used a Thermos before, will it last from 8am until 1pm?

Any good ones out there?

cynic-al
    Free Member

Maybe not piping, but decent enough.

jon1973
    Free Member

A proper glass one should.

mastiles_fanylion
    Free Member

Try it and find out?

And Thermos do make good flasks yes 😉

munrobiker
    Free Member

Mastiles- I’m not paying for things for them to be gash 😡

Kuco

Yep no problem, as long as you heat the soup efficiently and pre warm the flask.

butcher

I have a crap mini steel ASDA one and it keeps soup warm until that time. A proper decent Thermos should keep it hot no problem.

jon1973
    Free Member

I’m not paying for things for them to be gash

They only cost a few quid and I think the supermarket branded ones are as good as Thermos. We got a 1.8ltr one for about £8 from Tesco.

donsimon
    Free Member

Mastiles- I’m not paying for things for them to be gash

It would appear that they’ve made a bit of a business out of selling them. 😛

druidh
    Free Member

As above – an “old-fashioned” glass-walled one will be fine. The metal ones struggle, even if pre-heated before filling.

Muke
    Free Member

I use an Aladdin Challenger flask,have left coffee in there from the morning and it was still hot next day

mastiles_fanylion
    Free Member

Ohh and get a flask that will be full to the brim – less air will mean the contents stay warmer for longer.

Kuco

Don’t have a problem with my Stanley or Berghaus metal flask.

singlecrack
    Free Member

+1 for Alladin flasks
    I have made soup at 7am and still pipping hot at 3pm
    Also as said above per warm the flask with boiling water first .

Pop a handfull of pasta in the flask with your soup and it cooks in the soup ready for lunch time

ebygomm