Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • 'Touched' by lorry…do anything?
  • oldgit
    Free Member

TBH now I’m home I can’t be bothered. A lorry passed and came in too soon, I held myself off by putting my elbow on his trailer until a strap thingy snagged me and sent me swerving.
    Long shot is no harm done, but at the time I was furious screaming out what a C he was, launching gob his way and wildly gesticulating.
    Ironically I caught up with him as I was going faster than him through the village. Though it wise not to pull up alongside such a huge wagon?

Anyway what to do, and the only reason I think I should do anything at all is ‘what if it wasn’t me’ someone able to handle his self, able to hold a sliding bike a la cyclo cross. What if it was a 70 year old commuter or a kid, even a total newbie?

Tempted to demand a face to face next time he is delivering to the well known quite posh supermarket.
    Funny! after going on about my lack of incidents over all the decades.

devash
    Free Member

Carry a lump hammer in your Camelbak.

Passenger window, wingmirror and windscreen. He’ll get the message next time.

Afterwards, tweet ‘Definitely smashed up a lorry earlier – I have right of way he doesn’t even pay road tax! #bloodydrivers.’

nickjb
    Free Member

If you have the time (and any other details) and the company then at least report to his employer. Not worth going to the police. I might be tempted to just say he hit you on the arm rather than go into detail about fending off.

oldgit
    Free Member

Yeah just did that. Had part reg, couldn’t see a high one and had to ride up close to see it lower right.
    Logged part reg. exact time. location and company name.

He really shouldn’t have pulled in until he could see me again..correct?

steveh

Definitely report it, I’d say police and employer. Unlikely as it is how would you feel next week or next month if another cyclist is hit and comes off worse than you did?

uselesshippy