Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • That could of been nasty. And, can it be welded?
  • mattk
    Free Member

About to go out for a ride this morning but decided to swap the stem before hand. Bloody good job as I found a crack in the steerer tube. It looks like the hope head doctor had slipped up the steerer when I tightened the top cap when I fitted the previous stem. Being at the top of the tube it was able to flare the end and start the crack.

I imagine I would have lost a few teeth if the crack had gone horizontal and snapped off.

Anyone else had this happen, and successfully had it welded?

GrumpyDave
    Free Member

Nope. Time for a new fork or steerer if you are lucky.

oldgit
    Free Member

How the deuce did you do that?

mattk
    Free Member

How the deuce did you do that?

I’m no engineer but I believe the technical term is ‘ham fisted pillock’

mrphil
    Free Member

Head docter tightened up to much, where the crack has started looks to be either the start or end of the hacksaw cut.

Over time the tube has split, new tube/fork/fork uppers required.

mattzzzzzz
    Free Member

It’ll polish out – good job it wasn’t somewhere you can see it!

nickc

I have nothing to contribute other than to congratulate you on your choice of headset.

played sir…

v8ninety

Technically, anything metal can be welded, but whether it would be worth the hassle is another thing. More to the point, would you ever be confident in it again?

5thElefant
    Free Member

How long is the steerer?

If there’s enough left for use on another bike saw it off and eBay it.

muggomagic

I don’t imagine you’d be able to weld that, as it’s a split along the length of the tube. You might be able to get something like a zero stack headset and chop the steerer below the split?

mattk
    Free Member

I have nothing to contribute other than to congratulate you on your choice of headset.

Goes with my colourway innit, besides onza do surprisingly good headsets.