Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Swinley Forest-
  • D28boy
    Free Member

Wondered if any of you guys could recommend a ride out for me @ Swinley for my first visit. Looking for some fun but not too techy as I’m a newb. I’d appreciate any recommended routes/trails to take.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

Most of Swinley isn’t technical at all. There’s plenty of flattish single track for learning the ropes on, and lots of options available

But, it’s a rabbit warren! There are trails all over the place, all unmarked and mostly well hidden. Your best bet is to hook up with someone who can show you round 🙂

scuttler

Navigation’s a nightmare. Would suggest you wait for someone on here to offer some guiding (not me – I live up north) or look for the facebook group that do frequent rides for a mix of abilities.

If you do go out with a group remember to focus on landmarks and where you’re going so that you can get to grips with navigating your own way around. In a group it’s all too easy just to follow the wheel in front.

HTH

philconsequence
    Free Member

still new to riding, still new to swinley but do head down there a couple of times a week. when abouts are you hoping to get down there dude? how would you describe your fitness and ability?

soobalias
    Free Member

dont listen to them, if you want to get the very best out swinley you would be better off with a guide, but there is loads of riding there and wherever you go in the forest you only have to head north to find your way back to the carpark

as you ride along the fire tracks, take any little bit of singletrack and see where it leads.

ive got a copy of the map with some of the trails marked if you want me to email it

D28boy
    Free Member

Phil

may go this Sunday time & weather permitting. New to this lark myself. Used to be a bit of a runner but injury/osteoarthritis of hips put an end to that recently..Too bad @ 48. Still enjoying the MB & doing Test Valley Tour next weekend!