Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Stop me buying a new bike! Possible 29er content
  • twistedpencil

Time for a new bike, I have finally snapped and given up on reading up, reviews, trying to get demos sorted, and I’m going to order a bike unseen and untested next week….

I’ve been hankering for a new bike for three years now, however held off due job insecurity in a dodgy economy. Now thinking stuff that, economy needs rescuing with me spending 🙂

Three years of toying with buying a new bike, after ten years on an Orange Sub5, has got me in a reet pickle. Started off wanting a Five AM, then toyed with the Alpine 160, then realised that I’ve been needing a Nicolai in my life after long term lusting. So Helius it was. Rocky time in construction meant hold on a while, then some numb nuts went and started making long travel 29ers. Thanks to my easily turned head, Dirt had me looking to sell a kidney for a Intense Tracer 29, I have high quality kidneys.

In all this time I’ve not thrown my leg over another bike, try getting a test rig in XL. I’m now sold on the benefits of wagon wheels if for no other reason that I’m 6’3″ and actually the wheels on the 20″ Sub5 do look small. Don’t mention 650b, I’m indecisive enough as it is.

So am I stupid going in and placing an order for a Nicolai Helius AC 29er without seeing one in the raw? Also what about sticking a CCDB Air on it with a Fox 34 up front. Rest of kit will be to a budget…

I’m embarrassed to say all my knowledge on new kit comes from surfing the net and subscribing to too many mags, rather than riding any of it. In fact I’ve depressingly spent more time reading mags than riding bikes this year, the shame 😳

Flame away, correct my stupid actions before I buy something!

khani
    Free Member

So am I stupid going in and placing an order for a Nicolai Helius AC 29er without seeing one in the raw? Also what about sticking a CCDB Air on it with a Fox 34 up front. Rest of kit will be to a budget…