Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • road racing/nutrition question
  • dirtygirlonabike
    Free Member

During last weekends road race, i ran out of water/high 5 4:1 with a fair distance still to go (it was fairly hot/i drink a bottle an hour), but my main issue was hunger. I usually eat cereal bars on the bike and energy drink in my bottles but couldn’t get a cereal bar down during the race due to a dry mouth – trying to eat an elevenses bar was like emptying a bag of flour into my mouth! 😯

I’ve never used energy gels/sweets before – would they stop the hunger? Or am i better trying something like jellybabies?

I felt my energy level was pretty consistent during the race with my energy drink/pre race nutrition (and i’ve done race pace rides with no energy drink so i know i can do the distance/effort) but i’d like to stop the hunger* Eating more at breakfast isn’t really an option – i can only eat a bowl of cereal for breakfast (plus it doesn’t seem to matter how much i eat at breakfast, i still get hungry come lunchtime) and i was feeling sick with nerves on sunday so could only get a banana and bit of chocolate down about 30mins before the race.

*riding faster to finish earlier is an option as soon as i figure out how to get faster 😀

leggyblonde
    Free Member

energy gels are the way forward. I can’t eat solid food in road races, but a Mule Bar or Hi5 gel or two is easily gulped.

Stuey01
    Free Member

I don’t race, so a different context. I recently rode London to Paris, I found that gels (particularly those with caffiene) were effective at staving off hunger til the next stop where solid food could be taken on.

oldgit
    Free Member

What sort of race duration are we talking here.

That thing about not eating breakfast, sort of same here but I get up early and have a first breakfast. Wait a while then have a second, whilst drinking fluid all morning.

yoda
    Free Member