Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Ragley Frame + Boardman Comp components – worth it?
  • jeffskowski
    Free Member

Hi Guys

First post but have been reading and absorbing for a while and no would like to ask for some advice.
    I have been riding a Boardman HT Comp for the past 3 months. Purchased 2nd hand for a good price, it was perfect for me to get back into riding after a 20 year sabbatical. It has been faultless but I am now wanting to be able to tackle more ‘interesting‘ terrain while also wanting to be able to ride the Surrey Hills XC trails as well.

I have thought about a full susser but after reading more and more on the subject, I think a longer travel, stronger hardtail would be just the ticket.

So to my queries:
    – If i purchased a Ragley Piglet, could I just bolt my Boardman gear to it and ride away?
    I can set the forks up for 140mm of travel no problem but what about the rest of it?

– If the answer is no, what could be used and what would I have to buy at a minimum?

Links to Boardman Spec: http://www.boardmanbikes.com/mtb/ht_comp.html
    Ragley Frame specs: Frame Specs:

• Front Derailleur: 28.6mm Top Pull
    • Seat Post: 27.2mm
    • Seat Collar: 29.8/30mm
    • ChainLine: 50mm
    • BB Shell 68mm
    • Headset 1.125in standard
    • Rear disc size up to 203mm
    • Fork length 130-150mm optimised.

I may be barking up the wrong tree but as a born agin noob I would appreciate any help.

Thanks
    Jeff

I am hoping the

chiefgrooveguru

I did much the same, building my Boardman HT Pro (old version) onto a Cotic Soul frame. Needed a different front mech, headset and seat clamp, but everything else worked fine, and the new frame rode much better. Gradually upgraded all the parts and now the old Boardman is my wife’s occasional MTB.

jeffskowski
    Free Member

Cheers for the info guru.

If it’s a fairly easy/cheap swap I think I’ll go for it and then upgrade/replace as and when things break.

🙂

davidtaylforth