Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Pennine Bridleway Double Attempt
  • alanbill99

Hi folks,

Just ‘cos it seems the thing that people do when attempting this sort of thing’, I’m just letting folks know that I’ll give the PBW Double a shot next weekend.

I did 2/3rds of it last year and had plenty left in the legs. I’m 20% stronger this year too.

I’ve been following Rob Lee’s 7DS and it really did inspire me to get out and do something bigger than I would normally do. I live right near the end of it (live in Belper) so it’s real handy.

Not sure of exact timings, but it’ll probably be Thursday evening into Friday evening. I’ve been chatting with Steve Heading for a few months on logistics ‘style’ and water and also let Rob know that he’s got a lot to answer for !

Looking forward to a memorable day in the saddle.

GaVgAs
    Free Member

good luck,i hope the weathers on your side.. 🙂

alanbill99

I think the best I can hope for is a good soaking every now and again!

MrSparkle

Fair play, fella. Good luck!

ton

that is a tough old ride. good luck mate.

trailofdestruction
    Free Member

Good luck. Guess you’ve already packed the gore-tex, eh. Please let us know how you get on, it would be interesting to read a post ride report.

pistonbroke
    Free Member

Pardon my ignorance but what is a PBW double? Is it Middleton Top to Kirkby Stephen and back or up to the Mary Towneley loop, round the loop and back to Middleton. The PBW is complete up to KS as I rode it in May but it adds another 75 miles to the route so a double would be around 300 miles.

twinklydave

I dare you to pull a silly face every time you have to stop at a gate 😉

Have fun!

anjs
    Free Member

oh so it that 400 miles in one go?

elaineanne
    Free Member