Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • on one scandal questions
  • bigyim
    Free Member

I have ordered a scandal 26er frame direct from on one, is the seat clamp a different size to the front derail as it says on the website.
    Seatpost Size (mm) 27.2
    Seat Clamp Size (mm) 31.8
    Front Mech Clamp Size (mm) 34.9

It also says that the bb is 68mm english thread, is this a standard bb or a new super rare sort?
    oh yeah and are these frames any good!!!?

pinches
    Free Member

Yes seat clamp is 31.8 but mech clamp is 34.9, the seat tube is tapered.

The bb is a standard English bb. Just needs normal threaded cups (assumin your fitting something with external bearings ht2 etc)

I’ve been riding mine since 2007. It’s light and fast considering the price!

pixelmix
    Free Member

I had a Scandal for a bit, and those measurements all sound right to me. The downtube narrows after it passes the top tube, so the seatclamp is smaller than the front mech clamp size. You will want a front mech that supports top pull too as the cable comes along the top tube.

68mm english is a standard MTB thread. Hollowtech II etc will fit fine. I was happy enough with my Scandal. Light and cheap.

bigyim
    Free Member

thanks guys, they have the scandal 26er vertical drop for £135 so it would be rude not to. Any one got any pictures of their builds to give me some colour ideas, some of the all black frames can look a bit boring imo so I might bling it up

stayhigh

Morning.

I have a Scandal which is a lovely light, fast ride and I’m very happy with it. The seatpost is 31.8 and the front mech is 34.9 so order those sizes and you’ll be fine. The BB is a normal type bb i.e. HT2 etc you just need to use the spacers that come with it. I have 2 on the drive side and one on the non drive side which does just fine when I run it with gears. When using it as a single speed I only have one on the drive side as it helps the chain alignment.