Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Newbieee post! RE: Cube LTD SL & Converting to 1 x 10 (:roll:)
  • dsb181
    Free Member

Hi everyone!
    Please be kind, first post after lurking for a while! I expect that the regulars on here are sick of such questions but I’m a complete novice and would really appreciate some help with this one!

I own a 2012 Cube LTD SL and I’m keen to run it 1 x 10 rather than 3 x 10 as standard.
    At the moment it has 42,32 & 24 but I’d like a single 34 or 36 chainring.

I use the bike for a 10 mile daily commute on a byway & road plus local blasts on single track roads & bridal ways, unfortunately there isn’t a great deal of trails or such around here (Banburyshire) & next to no hills.
    I’m finding that I’m only really using the middle 32t chainring hence my desire to change to a single but could do with a 34/36 to keep speed at the low end on the road section on my commute.

I’m curious to know if the E13 XCX guide would fit onto my bike and how simple it would be to get everything lined up so I could make full use of the 10 gears on the rear without any/too much rubbing of the chain on the guide. I understand that it’s fixed on by the bottom bracket cup and replaces one of the spacers?

Also could somebody suggest a couple of chainrings that would be suitable, I’m assuming I can only use a Shimano branded one as the rest of my drivetrain is Shimano. I’m not sure if I should be looking for a single specific one or a middle outer one would work.

Could I still use the same chain and drop a couple of links to tighten things up? Also would power links in my chain be alright to use?

The parts on my bike now are..
    Shimano Hollowtech 2 BB
    Shimano Deore XT RD-M780 Shadow 10-speed rear Derailleur
    10 speed 11-32 rear cassette

I’m just looking for a tried and tested set up that will work without any problems and neaten & quieten everything up.