Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • New Wheels – is it worth going the extra for Pro 2 and Stans?
  • chillidave
    Free Member

For various reasons I’m in the market for a new set of ‘all mountain’ (for want of a better word) wheels. I’m around 90kg with gear, like to ride up down, some jumps (badly) and drops but nothing too big.

I’ve narrowed it down to a set of superstar switch hubs with their AM rims, On One’s max wheelset or goign the extra for a set of Merlin built (they seem the cheapest) Hope Pro 2s with either Stans Arch or Flows.

I can’t decide if it’s worth going the extra, at over £120, for the Pro2s. I’m also not sure if white rims will soon be come a bike asthetics crime in years to come!

Cheers

muppet4
    Free Member

i have been running pro2 on ztr 355’s for nearly 2 years and have been very pleased with them. the only downside is they do mark a little bit more than mavics but i would def have another set.
    i come in at 90kg too and had no problems – only trued the back once and they have been used in the peaks on hardtail!

mine weigh 1650grams too.as for the hopes they have been faultless and have only needed one bearing in the freehub!

yesiamtom
    Free Member

even riding all through the winter my pro2s are faultless after about a year of use. The rims are also amazing. You should be able to get the hope built set for around 260 quid if you look.

neilsonwheels
    Free Member

Pro 2’s just keep going. Mine have seen plenty of mud and shite and never falter. I think they are four years old now and the bearing are smooth as a babies.

nicko74

£120 is a lot of coin though, so I guess it depends how pimpy you want your wheels.

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

Do you see this as an investment to last a long time? or as a new set of wheels to be replaced in a year or two. I have some pro 11s and hope never to buy new hubs again.

WhatWouldJesusRide
    Free Member

I’ve got Pro 2/ZTR Flow in the front.